Living Abroad Pt. 2

I COME FROM A LAND DOWN UNDER! (Got this picture from http://community.pas.org/australia/Home/)

I COME FROM A LAND DOWN UNDER!
(Got this picture from http://community.pas.org/australia/Home/)

My wordpress has been a little lonely the past few months. Probably because I have been completely uninspired and there was nothing happening in my life that deserved even the slightest mention on the Internet. After applying to 100,000,000,000 jobs in Canada, I’ve given up. Not entirely, just temporarily. And here’s why…

A few weeks ago, I got the worst flu I’d had in years. I’m eternally grateful for this flu.  As I don’t work very often, I was able to go home to Sharbot Lake to lay in the sunroom and think of nothing but my pending life. As I was trying to sleep, my mom had Oprah’s Life Class on in the living room. Stevie Nicks was giving the class. I pulled my lethargic self up and decided to watch it. Instant inspiration.

The talented future Fleetwood Mac front woman was living in a shitty apartment in Los Angeles, supporting herself and her boyfriend with tips, staying up all night writing music.  No, I’m not moving to LA to pursue a singing career…but this story (and so many others) of people who just refused to do anything except their dream job got me thinking.

I spent the next three days in the throws of an anxiety attack trying to come up with a plan for myself. Enter: flow chart. I started making some notes about myself. Travel was the most prevalent theme on the sheet of paper. Performance was a close second. I watched a few travel shows to get some inspiration (and criticize the hosts) and I came to a pretty solid conclusion: being a travel journalist, with my own show, would be my ultimate dream job. I know this sounds ridiculous, as 95% per cent of people would love this job.

A glimpse into my future as a travel journalist: Emily Dickinson, live from the Arctic.

A glimpse into my future as a travel journalist: Emily Dickinson, live from the Arctic.

But… like someone who will not sleep until they get a record deal, it CAN happen.  It will! But bartending in Ottawa isn’t getting me there.

My lease is up on April 30, so I had to make a quick decision.  Europe? Asia? America? Nothing felt right, right now.  I timidly went to talk to my mom about an idea that had been floating in my mind forever—a year down under in Australia. She was surprisingly positive, considering it’s in another hemisphere….and my plans were underway!

Reasons for choosing Australia:

-Easy working holiday visa, so I can make money to fund my weekend getaways to film

-Support group of friends

-Not somewhere I could (realistically) afford to travel when I have a house and kids, so gotta do it now

-I speak the language (kind of)

-It’s COOL.

Me and my mate (and future room mate!) Damien! Re-united two years post-Denmark!

Me and my mate (and future room mate!) Damien! Re-united two years post-Denmark!

Denmark reunion was fun on Skype, but will be more fun in person!

Denmark reunion was fun on Skype, but will be more fun in person!

Reasons for doubting myself:

-Loneliness

-Time change that is practically impossible to work with

-16 hours on one flight

– Snakes

The main reason I’m stressed out is the snakes. If I see one, I might just die on the spot. Canadian non-poisionous snakes are bad enough. But these ones can kill me. I won’t be doing any Outback tours, I can guarantee that.

SO, it’s official (because my flight was on sale and therefore non-refundable). I’m moving to Melbourne, Australia on May 13, 2013. Get ready, Aussies… there’s a Canadian coming to take over your world! I’ll start preparing myself for saying “No, I’m not American. No, our accents aren’t the same. No, it’s a really different country.”

I CAN’T WAIT. Actually, I can. I’m scared shitless. Stay tuned…

One thought on “Living Abroad Pt. 2

  1. Yay! Em…how many times have you been exposed to snakes right here at home…and you got through it…you’re about to take another giant travel/life leap – but you’ve done it before and been very successful. The world’s your oyster! Make it happen.
    Much love,
    Mom xo

Leave a Reply

